2017 Scholarship Recipients

Pamela Akametalu

UCLA, David Geffen School of Medicine

Dominique Linnear

Los Angeles Harbor College

Kyasha Moore

UCLA, David Geffen School of Medicine

Da’Kandryia Peters

USC, Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry

Mammeet Sehdev

University of California, Irvine School of Medicine

2017 Trailblazer Award

Congresswoman Maxine Waters

2017 Lifetime Achievement Awardees

Michael B. I. Scott, M.D.

Flaxie R. Fletcher, M.D.

Solomon T. Little Jr., M.D.

2016 Scholarship Recipients

Kelley Butler

UC Irvine School of Medicine

Rasheed J. Ivey

Charles Drew University/DGSOM Medical Education Program

Amber Dawn Parker

USC Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry

Jordan Rivera 

Keck School of Medicine of USC

Etuajie Oiyemhonlan

Western University of Health Sciences

2016 Award Honorees

Daughter’s of Charity

President’s Award

Fombe Ndiforchu, MD, MPH, MBA

Trailblazer Award

Karol Bowens-Thompson, MD

Trailblazer Award

As we continue to honor our trailblazers and provide financial aid to our next generation of physicians, dentists, nurses and allied health professionals, we sincerely wish to thank all of our colleagues, supporters and friends. You have enhanced our ability to follow the guidance of Drs. Lawrence and Miller by your generous and continued support.

Past Scholarship Recipients


Previous Trailblazer Honorees

Rev, Dr. Clyde Oden | 2015 Richard Baker, M.D. | 2014 Wilbert Jordan, M.D., M.P.H. | 2014 Wilbert Jordan, M.D., M.P.H. | 2014 Frazier Moore, Sr., D.D.S. | 2013 Ezra C. Davidson, Jr., M.D. | 2012 Mathias Fobi, M.D. | 2011 Joseph Rudison, M.D. | 2010 Kathleen Jones-King, M.O. | 2009 Ebenezer Bush, D.D.S. | 2007 Betti Jo Warren, M.O. | 2007 Hubert Hemsley, M.D. | 2007 Dynus N. Lawrence, M.D. | 2006 Ross Miller, M.D. | 2006